FacebookGoogle PlusInstagramLinkedInTwitter
‘Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read.’ – Groucho Marx

October New Releases

So many big releases in October! So on this THE LAST DAY OF OCTOBER I’m catching up and adding them all to our database! Check them out!

FANTASY and ADVENTURE

For all of the Philip Pullman fans out there (like me) there was much excitement around the release of The Secret Commonwealth. Book two in the Book of Dust series (which is set in the world of the His Dark Materials series) sees Lyra now twenty years old. The new TV series His Dark Materials will have its premiere this Sunday, November 3, on BBC One in the U.K. and the following day, November 4, on HBO in the U.S.  The TV adaptation of Philip Pullman’s trilogy His Dark Materials is BBC’s most expensive show to date, and promises to be a faithful adaptation!

The much loved author/comedian/painter has a new YA series. This is the first time Anh Do has written for this demographic and the series looks like a rollicking adventure., The Golden Unicorn: Rise of the Mythix Series by Anh Do.

Best selling Australian author Garth Nix has a new book Angel Mage  and if it’s dark magic you like, try Into the Crooked Place by Alexandra Christo.

SCIENCE FICTION ADVENTURE

Slay by Brittney Morris is being described as Black Panther meets Ready Player One! A fierce teen game developer battles a real-life troll intent on ruining the Black Panther-inspired video game she created and the safe community it represents for black gamers. ‘We are different ages, genders, tribes, tongues, and traditions … but tonight we all SLAY’

PARANORMAL AND SUPERNATURAL

The Good Luck Girls by Charlotte Davis is an action packed debut perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Stephanie Garber. The author Charlotte Davis says: ‘I didn’t want to tell a story about racism, necessarily – there’s plenty of that on the news – but a story about a black girl and her sister finding freedom? Young women of all types getting into good trouble? Underdogs coming together to stand up against the rich and powerful? That sounded like exactly what the doctor ordered.’

The Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh #1 New York Times bestselling author Renee Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight. In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. Isn’t that enough to make you want to read it?

The Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall is The Blair Witch Project crossed with Stranger Things  – a skin-crawling story that grows more unsettling with every step…oooooh!

CONTEMPORARY

Permanent Record by Mary H.K. Choi for fans of contemporary books about after high school, college and coming of age.

Cover of Invisible Boys

Invisible Boys by Holden Sheppard is a debut LoveOzYA with a lot of hype.“Invisible Boys is a raw, confronting YA novel that explores the complexities and trauma of rural gay identity with painful honesty, devastating consequences and, ultimately, hope.”

HISTORICAL

If history is more your thing then October delivered for you too!

The Incredible True Story of the Making if the Even of Destruction by Amy Brashear mixes the real and the fictional and gives it an extra twist of strange! Amy Brashear grew up with family near Damascus: home of the infamous 1980 “Damascus Incident,” where an accidental explosion in a Titan II silo almost triggered a nuclear war. The Incredible True Story of the Making of the Eve of Destruction is inspired by this event.  Arkansas, 1984: The town of Griffin Flat is known for almost nothing other than its nuclear missile silos. MAD—Mutually Assured Destruction—is a fear every local lives with and tries to ignore. Unfortunately that’s impossible now that film moguls have picked Griffin Flat as the location for a new nuclear holocaust movie, aptly titled The Eve of Destruction. 

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is set in 1950’s Spain — a country held tight in the grip of General Francisco Franco’s blood-soaked dictatorship. It examine life, resilience and love in a world  ruled by a fascist regime. Ruta Sepetys is a masterful storyteller and this is set to be a moving tale.  “Spain under Francisco Franco is as dystopian a setting as Margaret Atwood’s Gilead in Ruta Sepetys’s suspenseful, romantic and timely new work of historical fiction . . . Like [Shakespeare’s family romances], ‘The Fountains of Silence’ speaks truth to power, persuading future rulers to avoid repeating the crimes of the past.” —The New York Times Book Review

OWN VOICES

Ghost Bird by Lisa Fuller is a mystery about twins, Stacey and Laney – mirror images of each other – and yet they’re as different as the sun and the moon. When Laney disappears one night, Stacey can’t believe she’s just run off without telling her.

As the days pass and Laney doesn’t return, Stacey starts dreaming of her twin. The dreams are dark and terrifying, difficult to understand and hard to shake, but at least they tell Stacey one key thing – Laney is alive.

Lisa Fuller is a Wuilli Wuilli woman from Eidsvold, Queensland, and is also descended from Gooreng Gooreng and Wakka Wakka peoples. She won the 2017 David Unaipon Award for an Unpublished Indigenous Writer, the 2018 Varuna Eleanor Dark Flagship Fellowship, was a joint winner of the 2018 Copyright Agency Fellowships for First Nations Writers, and placed second in the 2018 Feminartsy Memoir Prize.

Chinglish by Sue Cheung

Sue Cheung is an illustrator/artist known for quirky picture books. This memoir is part diary, part cartoon, creates an illustrated story of growing up asian in 80’s Britain.

 

 

 

2 comments

bookhaven

i swear to god, my book list is getting too big! not something i'm mad about though :)

2w ago
inky Centre for Youth Literature

I hear ya! Mine too! I write these posts and head straight to the library!

2w ago